Navigate Up
Sign In

Bishop Hurley announces new deanery structure

The deanery structure in the Diocese of Grand Rapids was recently re-aligned to increase inter-parish communication, collaboration and better reflect the new reality of our merged and clustered parishes. In the Roman Catholic Church, a dean is assigned to look after a group of parishes within a diocese, uniting the priests in common pastoral activity, while providing support and counsel. Parishioners, volunteers and staff within a deanery also often work together in a multitude of ways.  Priests in the diocese are currently in the process of nominating deans who will also serve on the bishop’s Presbyteral Council.
Questions about the restructuring may be directed to the diocesan office of pastoral services.
More about Our Faith, Our Future - A Plan for the Diocese of Grand Rapids.
Grand Rapids Deanery – 17 parishes
Cathedral of Saint Andrew
Basilica of St. Adalbert
SS Peter and Paul
St. Mary
Sacred Heart of Jesus
St. Alphonsus
St. Isidore
Blessed Sacrament
St. Jude
Shrine of St. Francis Xavier & Our Lady of Guadalupe
Our Lady of Sorrows
St. Anthony of Padua
Holy Spirit
St. Paul the Apostle
Immaculate Heart of Mary      
St. Stephen
St. Thomas the Apostle
East Deanery – 15 Parishes  
St. Robert of Newminster, Ada
St. Mary, Lowell
St. Anthony, Saranac
St. Patrick, Parnell 
St. Charles Borromeo, Greenville 
St. Joseph–St. Mary, Belding
SS Peter and Paul, Ionia 
St. Edward, Lake Odessa
St. Joseph, Pewamo 
St. Patrick, Portland 
St. John the Baptist, Hubbardston       
St. Mary, Carson City
Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Belmont 
Our Lady of Consolation, Rockford 
Mary Queen of Apostles, Sand Lake (St. Margaret)
West Deanery – 20 Parishes
St. Patrick–St. Anthony, Grand Haven
St. Mary, Spring Lake
St. Francis de Sales, Norton Shores
St. Michael, Muskegon
Sacred Heart, Muskegon Heights
St. Thomas the Apostle, Muskegon Township
Our Lady of Grace, Muskegon
St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception, Muskegon
Prince of Peace, North Muskegon       
Our Lady of the Assumption, Rothbury
West Deanery cont'd 
St. James, Montague (St. John the Baptist, Claybanks)

All Saints, Fremont
St. Michael, Brunswick
St. Francis Xavier, Conklin
St. Catherine, Ravenna
St. Joseph, Wright
St. Mary, Marne
St. Michael, Coopersville
Holy Family, Sparta
Holy Trinity, Comstock Park
South Deanery – 13 Parishes
Holy Name of Jesus, Wyoming
St. Joseph the Worker, Wyoming
Our Lady of La Vang, Wyoming
Holy Family, Caledonia
St. Mary Magdalen, Kentwood
St Luke University Parish, Allendale
Holy Redeemer, Jenison         
St. Pius X, Grandville 
St. Sebastian, Byron Center
St. Dominic, Wyoming
St. John Vianney, Wyoming
Our Lady of the Lake, Holland 
St. Francis de Sales, Holland 
North Deanery – 17 Parishes
St. Mary–St. Paul, Big Rapids
Sacred Heart, Evart
St. Agnes, Marion
St. Philip Neri, Reed City
St. Bernadette of Lourdes–St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, Stanton
St. Michael the Archangel, Remus 
Christ the King–St. Francis de Sales, Howard City
St. Ann–St. Ignatius, Baldwin
St. Bartholomew, Newaygo
St. Joseph, White Cloud          
Our Lady of Fatima, Shelby   
St. Gregory, Hart
St. Joseph, Weare (St. Vincent, Pentwater)
St. Mary–St. Jerome, Custer
St. John Cantius, Free Soil
St. Bernard, Irons
St. Simon, Ludington